The car is possibly the most convenient and popular way of getting from A to B. However, due to its impact on environment and the risk it poses to pedestrians and motorists, government should take urgent steps to reduce our dependency on this mode of transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, individuals prefer using their car to commute rather than public means of transportation. Some believe that we are too dependent on them and because of their environmental and safety issues actions should be taken by the law. however, cars are an essential part of the transportation system, it has made some issues and people should be encouraged by the government to use their private vehicles less frequently. On the one hand, one of the main detrimental effects of cars on the environment is the huge amount of CO2 production and it can be solved by using electric vehicles or public transportation. Exhaust fumes from vehicles that contain a lot of toxic gasses are released into the atmosphere. Therefore, global warming and higher levels of the sea can be caused by CO2 which is one of those gases. On the other hand, the numerous cars commuting at high speeds can lead to a higher rate of accidents, especially the ones in which walking people and motorcyclists are involved. As a result, walking people not sitting in cabins surrounded by airbags are the ones injured. Firstly, To tackle this environmental man-made disaster made by cars, the government could have put some taxes on fossil fuels and increased prices. Authorities can invest this money in companies such as tesla which produces electric vehicles. In addition, expanding public transport can be a way to encourage individuals to use public transportation. secondly, In order to boost the safety of the unprotected public, guardrails and footbridges can be installed in streets. Also, lowering the maximum speed allowed is one the other field in which law intervention is needed. To conclude, I believe Although there have been a lot of problems caused by private transportation, they can not be eliminated completely but there are some solutions that government can reduce the consequences.