Some people think that robots are very important to human's future development, while others believe they are dangerous and negatively affect society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Robots have been around us for many years performing many repetitive tasks and the recent developments in this area of technology allow them to do more complex tasks. The proponents of this technology believe robots would play an important role in our future endeavours, while others believe it may have some adverse impact on society. I agree with the former view and this essay will discuss both views with more emphasis on the former. Perhaps the most important use of robots is that they could perform highly risky tasks such as bomb disposal and firefighting. They are more agile and can withstand extreme conditions that are impossible for humans to bear. In addition, they can work round the clock without complaining or restrictions. Teller machines and robots used in manufacturing industries are good examples of such continuous work. With the developments of artificial intelligence, every piece of equipment is embedded with a certain amount of intelligence making them more versatile and useful. Opponents of robotics raise two key issues against their wide use. Firstly, they express their concerns over the employment problem as robots would take over many jobs currently performed by humans. One such area of great concern is driverless cars which would deprive millions of drivers worldwide of their livelihood. Added to this problem will be the issue of computer viruses or going the control of robots into the wrong hands. This kind of malfunctioning or disruptive act would undoubtedly have disastrous results. However, restructuring businesses to offer more job opportunities to people in a technological era and a protective mechanism for the control of robots would mitigate such mishaps. In conclusion, robots have useful as well as potentially harmful effects on society. However, restructuring the entire society to suit this technology era would allow us to yield the best use of them.