Some people believe that employers should not be concerned about the way employees dress, only the quality of their work. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It’s fair to say that the quality of employees ’ work is of paramount importance to any institution, however, the way employees dress is exactly one of the factors constituting corporate success. In my opinion, employers should be concerned about both their employees dress code and the quality of their work. First of all, appropriate workplace attire could save employees from mental fatigue and enhance working efficiency. Specifically, when all staff are dressing in similar formal clothes, there would be no need to think over and over about what to wear every day. In addition, exertions of talking about others’ clothes could also be saved so that employees could focus more on their own tasks, boosting corporations’ morale. Secondly, proper workplace attire could also help generate revenue for companies. For example, companies, especially those need to gather customers, need to leave a good and lasting impression on their customers. Wearing uniform attires could remind the employees as well as customers that they are well-organised and trustworthy, while a causal look could never make the same impression. Nevertheless, employers should pay attention not to cause unnecessary pressure on their staff. As the world advances at a pace faster than ever imagined, notions of what formal attire is have varied a lot over the years. Accordingly, dressing codes should be adapted for the benefits and convenience of staff as long as they are showing uniformity, and it thus doesn’t matter whether employees are wearing suits with ties or just t-shirts and jeans. In conclusion, the way employees dress and their quality of work should equally be the concerns of employers since the dress code is also an essential part of efficiency. However, instead of strict rules stating what’s proper and what’s not, institutions need to find ways to ensure uniformity as well as the comfort of staff.