Q: Some people say that at all levels of education, from primary school to university, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

With the revolution in all aspects of our world, education also needs reforms.Unfortunately, education has barely changed since the 19th century,especially in developing countries.Some people rightly advocate the importance of incorporating of practical life skills along with learning and memorizing facts with which I would strongly agree as the modern world demands practical knowledge and we tend to remember things that we practice. To begin with,the pedagogy has almost been the same for a very long and our way of teaching has been learning facts rather than practising real-life skills. This has been the reason why some students in every class prioritize merely memorizing stuff in order to succeed in their exams which they might do because of our orthodox pedagogy and examination criteria but rarely succeed in their practical life.I understand that learning is also an important aspect of education as one would only be able to understand the importance of something and its history through this theoretical knowledge. Nevertheless,maintaining a healthy ratio between theoretical and practical knowledge is important. Secondly,practical education holds vital importance in the modern world.The dynamics of this new world are changing day by day and it demands much more practical skills than it did previously. For instance,if a pharmacy student is merely taught how to develop a medication theoretically then he would have to take time to learn to apply it practically which he may lag much behind the others when he would step into his professional life.To reiterate,merely memorizing stuff is not enough in this fastly progressing world if it is not applied practically. Thirdly, the human mind is designed to remember the things that are frequently practised.That's why we tend to remember things that we practice rather than what we read in books years back. For instance,people who leave their high school in order to pursue some other career such as musicians and artists merely remember things that they learnt from school. Thus,we remember things that come into our practice. To summarise,all aspects of education are important either theory or practical. Nevertheless,in order to prepare youth for the future,we must incorporate the practice into our education if we want to progress.