Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that teenagers nowadays tend to choose online socialisation over face-to-face communication as it used to be. This essay will discuss the rationale behind this phenomenon and then offers some feasible solutions to it. There are numerous factors responsible for the dominance of socialising online over traditional communication. The most significant reason is that the convenience of technology makes teenagers feel it is more comfortable to stay in one place to make friends. This can be exemplified by the fact that the most popular social platforms, Facebook or Instagram for instance, are big communities in which you can make friends domestically or even internationally. As a result, this creates a habit of using technology for communication and makes them lazier to go out. Various solutions, nevertheless, can be adopted to tackle this situation. The first possible approach is that propaganda can be set up to raise awareness of online socialising dependence. It would exist a high chance of being lack of social skills in teenagers if they depend too much on technology to expand their network. Propaganda films and posters can help with that since those are easily perceived by this young age generation. Another solution is that parents and the education system can help by organising more outdoor activities as a playground for these youngsters to practice their soft skills. This is not only the responsibility of governments but also the whole community and particularly, parents of each teenager. In conclusion, the tendency to socialise online can stem from many causes. However, steps can be taken to ameliorate the circumstances.