Many people use written language in a less formal and more relaxed way. Why? Does this development have advantages and disadvantages?

These days, it can be noticed that the written language of some people is more casual and conversational than in the past. There are several reasons for this, and I believe that its disadvantages outweigh its advantages. This phenomenon can be attributed to the development of online messaging applications. This can be explained by the fact that these applications help people communicate quickly without meeting face-to-face. For instance, Zalo is a common app in Vietnam, and people use it to send texts to each other anytime and anywhere just by connecting to the Internet instead of having to make an appointment in real life. Furthermore, when texting usually, humans tend to not care about formality because they need to write quickly. As a result, using casual language in written form has become popular and it heavily affects the written language. Personally, I believe that this trend may carry a certain degree of risk. Firstly, when using written language in a relaxed way many times, people can forget how to write a formal letter. In fact, the present generation gets used to texting, so the young do not know how to write a formal email to apply for a job. Instead, they write these emails like they are texting with friends, and such unprofessional writing makes employers underestimate these young people. Secondly, this development can adversely affect the academic performances of students. Some studies have shown that students today tend to utilize abbreviated words or slang in essays and assignments that require a greater level of formality. Consequently, their academic results are often lower on standardized tests, potentially affecting their overall learning progress. In conclusion, the rise of online messaging applications has resulted in less formal and more relaxed written communication than in the past. It is recommended that people should refrain from using casual language anywhere.