Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Big corporations tend to attract consumers to buy their products, for they launch many well-funded marketing and promotion campaigns. This results in disruption in fair competition in the free eoconomy, limited choices for consumers, and an overall less innovative business environment. If companies control the majority of product consumption, in the long run, the market will be controlled by these few key players. This creates an unequal competitive environment where smaller businesses become even more disadvantaged financially. While large companies can enjoy the benefits of large-scale production, small production houses have to bear higher costs. As a result, they have no funds left for marketing or promotion. For example, the packaged food industry in Vietnam yields billions of revenue for large names such as Mazan or Ajinomoto and leaves a marginal market share for the street vendors and small startups that try to bring authentic local food to light. There are several things we could do to promote local product consumption. At the governmental level, tax reductions for both local buyers and producers should be adopted. Furthermore, local residents can be encouraged to explore their local values and cultural identities through educational programs. Local businesses should be supported by international trade unions such as Amcham or Eurocham by either financial funding or mentoring. Such efforts will empower local startups and business initiatives to be more innovative towards creating authentic local products that are valuable for the local people. In conclusion, large companies with big funds for marketing can dominate the local market, disrupt fair trade, and discourage local business innovation. To advocate local products, governmental bodies and trade unions can offer financial support and guidance to support small startups to keep making creative local-based products for their residents.