Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the protection of wild animals and that this money could be better spent on the human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Write at least 250 words.

It is an undeniable fact that many human-induced activities have led to the widespread destruction of flora and fauna. Many wild animals have become extinct and the few of them left are almost on the verge of extinction. However, some people think that instead of allocating more time and resources for the conservation of wildlife, they should be spent on the development of humankind. I firmly disagree with this statement and this essay enlightens the same. One of the primary reasons for preserving and maintaining the wide variety of fauna is due to the significant role they play in the biological food chain of organisms. The food chain is one of the most spectacular phenomena which brings about an equilibrium among creatures. If this is disturbed then it can have a detrimental impact not only on animals but on human beings as well. Secondly, wild animals mostly reside in forests and completely green environments. This means that their habitat and survival are mainly dependent on trees. As result, the degradation and deterioration of forests and plants by people results in habitat loss and many species of animals become endangered. For example, the Bengal white tiger became extinct because of increasing deforestation and the loss of its living space. Hence, by focusing on the conservation of wildlife individuals take care not to destroy forests and jungles and plant more trees and this, in turn, reduces the climate change issues which are affecting almost all parts of the world and creating havoc. Last but not the least, protecting wild animals has a positive impact on the life of human beings. Increased variety of fauna promotes ecotourism and benefits the economy of a nation. Many people working in the tourism sector also benefit from this as it boosts business and hence increases the income that individuals gain. For instance, The Serengeti National Park in Africa is one of the best parks housing a wide classification of animals and due to this tourism industry in Africa has expanded which has created a lot of jobs for the local people. To summarize, Even though some people argue about the invalidity towards preserving wildlife I strongly oppose this view as wildlife is something that ensures the balance of the world and efforts taken to preserve it are never wasteful as the importance they pose is underrated.