The media should include more stories which report good news. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided as to whether more and more delightful stories should be spread through the media or not. However, it is my firm conviction that this tendency would deviate from the role of media in keeping people informed and, at the same time, exert negative impacts. First of all, it is undisputedly true that the media should broadcast the truth. Learning the latest information and circumstances happening around the world or within the regional habitat is the main contributing reason for people to observe and track the news. For instance, amid the hostilities in Ukraine, the whole world pays attention to each precise update ranging from casualties and damages to infrastructures so that subsidies and support could be instantaneously provided. Another reason for not increasing the number of good news is that the excessive publication of “real-life examples of fairy tales” would deflect audiences from reality, causing misinterpretations and even depression. In other words, the followers who subconsciously conceive misconceptions about real and practical circumstances due to the minority of reported kindness and romance would become upset if they could not receive the same results presented on the news. On the other hand, while newspapers and TV stations may aim to report world events accurately, it is also true that their main objective is to sell newspapers and attract viewers. For this reason, they would tailor their news to their readers’ and viewers’ preferences in an attempt to reflect the flavour of their station. Sensational news, one of those containing misbehaviour of celebrities or public figures, would highly satisfy the curiosity and demand for the entertainment of most people. For instance, in the last few months, there were several cases ranging from adultery to manslaughter that attracted a significant amount of attention from the gullible public; and, of course, they did not convey any delightful message. As a result, almost every media station or channel placed a substantial emphasis on them in order to enhance their revenues. In conclusion, taking the potentially detrimental influence, the basic nature of news reporting, and the news business into consideration, I believe that broadcasts should not necessarily contain more good news.