In some countries, advertisers increase the amount of advertising which tries to persuade children to buy snacks, toys and other goods. Parents object to such pressure on children. But some advertisers claim that there is useful information in these advertisements. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is true that in this day and age, not only adults but also children are exposed to myriad different types of ads. While some manufacturers argue that their adverts provide a level of knowledge to audiences, my firm conviction is that they could produce more adverse effects. On the one hand, the content of advertisements is argued to be somehow informative because of two compelling reasons. First, undisputedly, ads must include insights which are useful and accurate in order to approach the target customers. For instance, the promotion of powder milk often presents the most significant ingredient as well as the outstanding function of the product, compared to other rivals. As a result, by watching the advertisement, parents would have a clear purchasing plan and know more about the product they are going to buy. Secondly, consumer protection laws adopted in almost every nation greatly put the brakes on fraud and deception in the advertising industry. If businesses were identified as suspiciously spreading inaccurate or misleading information, serious punishments would be imposed and negative impacts would be exerted on their brands, diminishing the business revenues. On the other hand, advertisements aimed at adolescents would trigger an unfavourable influence on both youngsters and parents. From the parental perspective, fathers and mothers are transparently put under the pressure of “pester power”. Children have the predisposition to pester their supervisors for colourful and interesting stuff observed on television, which in turn has the adults financially struggling. In respect of children’s health, advertising could create an ossified set of unhealthy habits such as over-consumption of sugary drinks and food. Being vulnerable to elaborate content schemed by businesses for mass profit, toddlers and teenagers would nag the adults for food and beverage that look fancy on display. As a result, intaking an array of junk food and sugar-added drinks, children are prone to health issues such as obesity. In conclusion, though ad producers plead that their promotions are informative to the public, from my viewpoint, there are detrimental aftermaths caused by them.