It is often said that the subjects taught in schools are too academic in orientation and that it would be more useful for children to learn about practical matters such as home management, work and interpersonal skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education is a vital part of human life in order to supply knowledge for seeking jobs in the future or simply help people to chase their dreams. However, most of the pupils do not actually recognize what they want to do and through the subjects in school, they find enthusiasm. Some maybe want to be scientists or others relating academic careers. Others want to be chefs, tailors, sellers or others not involving the subjects learned in school. Before that, students need to be taught all the primary subjects such as mathematics, literature, physics, history, and others to ensure that children can approach all the knowledge they want to study to decide to follow in the advanced academic levels like undergraduate or master. Therefore, I agree that all the subjects are needed, both academic and practical to have the job prospect. To begin with, some people assume that some academic subjects such as mathematics or physics are too difficult to learn, especially for kids who just want to be a chef and these should be excluded. In my point, this idea leads to negative effects on overall education. The first reason is unfair to students who have a passion for science or something that needs scientific knowledge. In reality, advanced knowledge has essential value and position, without this human life is not able to reach to recent level. For example, without mathematics, physics and chemistry knowledge, we do not have scientists or engineers to create machine devices or develop space technology. To achieve the complicated fields, we need advanced knowledge from “academic subjects ” taught in school. Thus, all these subjects still are taught in order to supply the fundamental knowledge for people who want to seek higher followed levels. On the other hand, practical knowledge should be learnt in school to make real- life easier. These subjects are called soft skills involving the life skills to manage, grow and be mature in personal activity. It is important that teach students how to deal with problems themselves when they face troublesome things, mental health matters or other complicated business. This proficiency would help our kids overcome their problems and be confident in themselves. Other practical knowledge that should be taught is the skills to do the daily work such as cooking, washing or on advanced levels, survival skills for getting lost in the uncommon environment. Although in my opinion, pupils could learn these subjects from their own parents because parents are the best teacher for their kids in real life. Another advantage is the closer relationship between parents and their children. However, in the case that kids do not have parents or be taken care of by guardians, schools could take this responsibility. In conclusion, either academic or practical matters are needed for children to survive in life and help their complete growth. Academic education in case they want to purchase a science or complicated, advanced career. It is vital for modern human culture, and for the future of humankind. Besides, practical skills should be learnt for daily life to raise our kids to become independent, helpful and mature people.