Many aspects of the way people dress today are influenced by global fashion trends. How has global fashion become such a strong influence on people's lives? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Global fashion trends are becoming popular among individuals around the world. This essay will examine the main reasons behind these trends and will argue that they have a negative impact on traditional cultural values. The reason why fashion is growing rapidly is the influence of social media platforms. Platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok play a major role in influencing teenagers, in particular who want to dress up like their favourite celebrities, supermodels, and other popular figures. For instance, BTS is a popular Korean band, which has impressed many people because of their unique dressing style that can be seen at their concerts, and many fans tend to imitate the singers' style. As a result, following fashion trends can help teenagers feel more confident, as they are less likely to feel excluded from their peer groups. However, this negative development is more significant because many traditional cultural dresses are disappearing from various countries around the world. For example, Nepal is one of the oldest countries in Asia, and has a variety of traditional dresses associated with different ethnic communities, such as Tamang, Newar, Thapa, Magar, and many more. Nowadays, however, many teenagers are losing interest in wearing these dresses because of the influence of social media platforms, celebrities, and peer imitation. Moreover, this trend has led to family conflicts and has weakened cultural identity within local communities. In conclusion, global fashion trends are driven by online platforms and celebrities and are especially followed by teenagers, who do so to feel more confident and keep up with the trends, but they have a negative impact on the traditional cultural values, as there is a risk that adolescents will abandon traditional attire in the future.