Some people believe more actions can be taken to prevent crime, while others think that little can be done. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, there is a surge in crime rates across the world. However, while some claim that there are many ways to reduce criminality better than before, some argue that it is not likely to have more actions to deal with the issue. Both points of view will be elaborated on in this essay, as well as the reason why I am convinced that there are more ways to go to tackle criminality. To begin with, some individuals trust that many solutions can be taken to prevent people from committing crimes. To clarify, it is believed that higher penalties lead to a fear of taking misconduct behaviours. For example, criminals committing pickpocketing in Singapore, a country with low crime rates, can receive a prison sentence maximum of 10 years, while only 6 months of imprisonment can be ordered in Thailand. In this respect, increasing the intensity of punishments can prevent potential crimes. On the other hand, the opponents of this idea argue that little methods can be taken. To clarify, at the present day, many are facing financial instability as a result of world economic regression. Therefore some groups of individuals have resorted to illegal actions, such as stealing food, to be survived this crisis. For instance, it is a fact that crime rates across the world have risen dramatically during the recent Covid-19 pandemic as s consequence of people's lack of sufficient income for basic amenities. Personally, I firmly believe that there are many ways to deal with criminality. To explain, instilling citizens, especially at young ages, patriotism can effectively lead to unity in the nation. From this perspective, all citizens will help each other pass through this financial crisis regarding the nation’s benefits rather than only focus on personal advantages and decide to commit a crime. In conclusion, while many claimed that there are almost no other ways to prevent criminals from committing crimes, some still believe that more means can be adopted. I am of the opinion that there are many solutions authorities can embrace to curb crime rates, such as instilling in their citizens patriotism.