Grades encourage students to work harder at school. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

It is often believed that students learn more when they are properly evaluated. However, some people are of the view that grades may inculcate negative feelings in the minds of children and therefore they should only be told about the failure or passing percentages but not the actual marks. I support the former opinion and this essay will discuss both ideas. Firstly, in my view, kids should be aware of their performance in school both in studies and extra curriculum. This will not only boost their confidence but at the same time will also encourage them to do better if not already up to the mark. Let's take an example of a hurdle race competition in which we know that all the candidates will eventually clear but only 1st three winners will get the reward. Therefore, it is very necessary to judge the skills of children during their school time so that they can know their weaknesses and work on them. On the other hand, it is commonly evidenced in educational institutions that kids tend to get jealous of their fellows if they are not able to compete with them in their studies. It develops anger issues in them and lowers their confidence. Another reason is a comparison by parents. For instance: One of my neighbours used to beat his child because he was unable to get higher marks than his best friend's son. Although his own result was not more than average. These kinds of situations deprive children of identifying their talent and therefore they get de-motivated after seeing their grades. In the nutshell, I would say that parents need to understand that every child has their own capabilities and talents. Grades will help their children in self-assessment and they can improve their weak points. Hence, the only thing we need to stop is a comparison and not an evaluation.