Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subject that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Studying at university has a significant role in determining the future of adults. There are conflicting views regarding whether students are allowed to choose what to study, or they must select from categories which are predicted to be more required. In my opinion, various privileges can be achieved by allowing them to select their preferred subjects with no restrictions. On the one hand, it is undeniable that allowing university attendees to pick up their desired courses can have many advantages. They will be motivated to complete their studies and progress significantly in their career. Consequently, their life will prosper. In contrast, if those students are forced to study a certain subject, they will not try hard to reach their goals. Therefore, giving choices to students is a necessity. On the other hand, some people believe that the university should limit the options of undergraduate programs to certain topics and make them focus mainly on technology and science. This can have positive effects on the development of the country as we live in the age of technological advances and scientific thinking. To illustrate, nowadays programming is one of the top-paid jobs, and having programming undergraduate courses will promote the professional life of the university people. Additionally, science is linked to every detail of our life, which means that scientists are required to ensure improvement in our societies. That is why it is argued that some university studies should be mandatory. In conclusion, the debate regarding what to study in universities will continue. However focusing on one or two categories to study seems appealing, all kinds of topics are necessary.