Across the world, local shops are closing due to losing customers to online competitors. What problems does this produce? And what solutions can you suggest to overcome them?

The online market has affected the local market around the world. This has resulted in problems such as job losses and creating a monopoly among a few companies. This can be solved by educating people to shop in the local and local market companies uniting together to get better prices. The advent of the online market has created a massive problem in the current job market. This new kind of trade has replaced human labour with high-speed computers etc. Traditional jobs such as salesman, cashier, janitor etc. positions have declined as there is no foot traffic in the local market. This has also resulted in the closing down of many businesses. Taking the example of the electronics segment in India, which has lost its 35 per cent market share to companies like amazon and Flipkart. Furthermore, the increasing trend of internet shopping has shaken the market dynamics by putting too much power in the hands of multinational companies and corporations. They can control market prices according to their interests. Taking example The food processing stock of some renowned brands is bought entirely by companies, resulting in no availability to the common market, forcing people to buy online at a fixed price. The solution to this brewing crisis is educating people to shop locally and listing out the benefits of the local economy. The recent example of the slogan used by Australia, " shop local", has made people aware of the dangers of online shopping. The local market has started to flourish and reversed the online trend. The second solution is uniting a front against large MNCs by making a traders group and bulk purchasing directly from the vendor or manufacturers. The online marketplace has better prices because of the quantity they purchase. If local traders buy quantity by rallying together, this will give them an edge in competition. In conclusion, the proper strategy will help overcome this problem, which requires the collective efforts of the market and government. Government should also legislate proper laws for fair trade practices so that even the smallest businesses can thrive.