Unemployment is a growing problem all over the world. What are the causes of this? What could be done to help tackle this issue? To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

In the recent modern world, the issue of unemployment is becoming more and more serious. Rapid changing industry structures, helped by the advent of the internet is the main driver of this serious problem. Also, unstable world economy due to the recent pandemic and wars are critical reasons as well. I completely agree with the idea that unemplyment is one of the most significant and growing world-wide issues and would like to propose some opinions on its causes and solutions. The first and the most significant cause of this problem is the impact of the recent pandemic and the war. For example, due to the prolonged impact from COVID-19, the travel and entertainment industry received devastating damage. As a result, companies in the industry had no choice but to reduce head counts of the staff working for them. Likewise, many other sections of industry needed to go through a similar path. The second significant reason is the advent of the internet and digitization. Now that many positions can be replaced by digital tools and robotics, the number of clerical jobs required at work places is decreasing. While people's life is becoming more convenient, some segment of workers were seriously impacted by this move. For example, at convenience stores, self-registration machines are replacing the shop cashiers. Also, at some restarurants and hotels, robot employees can handle customers so that human interaction can be minimum in the current circumstances. To counter these status, goverment should introduce reskilling programs to those people who lost jobs and make maximum effort to deploy them to other industories in the future. Also, they have to implement a subsidy program to private companies to keep their employees with the organization and encourage them to pursue different career paths. In conclusion, the issue of increasing jobless ratio is one of the most critical issues of today. They are caused by macro economy as well as by the change of the structure of industry. To solve this huge issue, goverment and privage sectors should take bold actions together.