Some people think that the government should spend more money on public services rather than wasting money on the arts. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The limited national budget has aroused debates among people of concern that whether it should be more allocated to public services than the arts or not. Nevertheless, I disagree with this perspective since it seems to me that the government is advised to have the allocation according to its eco-socio situation and the demand of each sector. There is no disputing the fact that public services such as hospitals, educational institutions, roads and trams are integral to every individual in all nations. They care for citizens with their health, education and well-being in general. Without investments in these public areas, human basic needs are not fully accommodated. Similarly, the arts also have a myriad of enormous benefits to people. They alleviate pressure from their fast-paced life and foster their souls, which brings contentment and happiness to them. As a result, the former and the latter need to be cared for by the authority without saying either is a wasteful source of the national budget. How much is allocated to each field depends on each individual country. Industrialized nations which have improved sufficient public service systems can now invest money in museums, exhibitions, music and so on. For instance, a developed nation like Japan has spent millions of dollars illuminating cities at Christmas to bring beauty to the public, which does not consider that it is wasting money. By contrast, it is clear that what developing countries should prioritize is upgrading non-private serving systems to meet their citizens' basic needs. It is no exaggeration to say that this population need a hospital much more than a concert. In conclusion, I would contend that the view of considering the arts as a way of being wasteful is biased. The nation's budget mainly serves the public and a suitable allocation should base on their demands. If do that, these countries will likely obtain satisfaction and support from everyone and develop substantially.