It is more important for school children to learn about their local history than the world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, giving lessons on the culture of different countries has become one of the main streams of fostering the young generation. Some people may contend that children should initially know as much about native past and traditions as they can because it is significant. And from my perspective, it is more advantageous and important for young students to study local history and culture than learn world history. To begin with, children can obtain cultural confidence and belongingness by learning about their native past. In other words, after thoroughly studying the formation of native history, they build up pride in their civilization, and find a bond between self and history; through deeply understanding the spreading of local tradition, people easily form an emotional attachment to the land, especially for the young generation. For instance, many Chinese immigrants in western countries teach their next generation Mandarin, in order to give their children a sense of belonging in the aspect of culture and race. Therefore, confidence in culture and a sense of belonging are necessities for teaching children the lessons. Furthermore, to preserve local history, it is vital for young students to learn about various historical events. For this reason that plenty of ethnic identities in specific areas and some minority traditions are being forgotten as time passes by, and fewer young people know the past of the place they live. As a result, young citizens will not understand the significance of numerous historical events happened to the land so that the preservation of the native history and civilization is going to be difficult to pass down to the next generation. Thus, citizens are supposed to learn more to protect local features. From the foregoing discussion, it is justifiable that the benefit of studying domestic history overtakes the drawbacks. School children are meant to learn their own past at the start, then the world’s history. The teachers ought to help students with the construction of confidence in a culture, passing down the notion of being responsible for defending their special history.