Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that products high in sugar should be sold at a higher price to discourage people from consuming excessive sugar due to many medical issues caused by high levels of sugar in food and beverage goods. I strongly agree with this idea because, through this policy, many people will be more thoughtful with their buying and companies will start selling healthier products. More expensive sugary products will result in a more thoughtful consumer. By implementing this strategy, a consumer will be most likely to think thoroughly before spending more money on a product that contains excessive sugar. The money that is not spent then can be allocated to buy more nutritious products, leading to a healthier individual. For example, recent research found that after an increase in the price of goods that are high in sugar, there is an increase in fruit sales in many countries. Moreover, the higher price of sweet foods and drinks can push companies to start offering more well-nourished products. The financial cost of a decrease in sales will prompt companies to develop better alternatives that the market needs. If more people choose to stop buying sugar -excessive products, companies then must turn to healthier products in order to keep making profits. For instance, after the sugar tax was implemented in Singapore, a lot of companies starts to make healthier goods. In conclusion, since sugar -excessive products cause a lot of diseases, it is thought that the price of products high in sugar should be higher. I agree with this suggestion because more expensive sweet products will result in more careful customers and healthier products in the market.