Instead of training a few athletes to win medals at the Olympics, governments should spend the money on programmes encouraging the public to be active and stay healthy. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that the money should be spent by the government on events promoting the public to be healthy and active, instead of educating numerous athletes to achieve medals at the Olympics. Although winning medals at the Olympics introduce the country to the world beneficially, I strongly believe that the fundamental aim of the governments needs to be considering average of public. On one hand, winning a medal at the international competition presents country to the world, which can lead to several advantageous outcomes. For example, the Turkish athlete who is Naim Süleymanoğlu won a gold medal regarding weightlifting. Then, other athletes who want to be professional in this sport, they came to Turkey to take lessons from him in 1990. This led to economical boost and increasing popularity of Turkey. Therefore, some people claim that governments should allocate the monetary resources to the sportive people. On the other hand, providing equal opportunities to the citizens’ health should be one of the main missions of the governments since the definition of social state is this. Thus, the government should spend money from general demands of society to private objectives of country. For instance, Somalia, which is one of the poorest countries in the world, is not able to prepare an athlete at the Olympics before the fulfilment of their basic needs such as being healthy. In conclusion, it is debated that governments should spend money for their citizens staying healthy in place of programs which is encouraging the athletes. I completely agree with the statement since the government needs to put in an importance order then it ought to take an action.