Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

Cars are bought by people at an enormous rate, ubiquitously. The burgeoning population of these on roads causes congestion and jams. I strongly believe that traffic congestion is the result of the increase in the number of car owners worldwide; however, the government can combat this issue by promoting public transport. To begin with, private vehicles occupy huge space on roads. Individuals commuting alone in their private automobiles cause huge stress on roads. If these people travel by bus, this could be helpful to control jams. For instance, a recent study state that seventy per cent of the traffic population is of privately owned cars. In the past decade, when people had less money to buy cars, there were fewer blocks on roads. Further, in developing countries where infrastructure is poor, these deteriorate the situation. Hence, cars have impacted inversely the problem of upsurging traffic jams. The government can alleviate the situation by encouraging people to use public transport and discouraging them to own cars by raising taxes. Firstly, better and rapid transport should be provided. For example, metro lines should be installed in big cities. This will help to reduce traffic problems. Secondly, heavy duties can be imposed on the purchase of cars, which will spike the prices. Raised sale prices will discourage people to buy cars. This will eventually lead to less congestion. Therefore, by providing better transport facilities and imposing taxes on cars, authorities can control this. In conclusion, raising the number of car owners is an indispensable factor causing traffic issues; nevertheless, the government can curb this. In my perspective, ownership of cars is affecting these problems and levy of huge duties and better transport are helpful to control.