Some people believe that if the police force carries guns, it would encourage a higher level of violence in that society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about whether policemen should be armed with guns. While some argue that this can lead to an increasing level of violence, I disagree with this idea and I believe that this is essential to society. There are several reasons why it is argued that if the police carry guns, society will become more violent. Firstly, the widespread use of guns by police officers may result in the exacerbation of violence. For example, when a policeman is chasing a suspicious person, he may unintentionally shoot the person to death. This can lead to not only resentful thoughts amongst residents but also social rioting events. Secondly, a sense of trust between citizens and police officers may be eroded by the overuse of guns. As a result, people would purchase weapons in order to protect themselves from policemen. Despite the reasons mentioned above, I assert that an armed police force would be an indispensable part of a safer society. To illustrate, it is the violent criminals but not the police that should be blamed for the high level of violence. For instance, a growing number of lawbreakers use heavy weapons, which can be seen as a severe threat to all members of society. Besides, citizens can acquire guns too easily, and some criminals may take advantage of this. Consequently, policemen have to carry weapons in order to deter people from committing a crime as well as protect innocent citizens. In conclusion, I believe that the police have the right to be entitled to firearms to protect residents and this is essential to deter violent lawbreakers.