Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it has become easier to learn languages than ever before. As a result, there are many multilingual people across the globe. However, some people still argue that knowing a new language is only beneficial for immigration and travel purposes. On the other hand, a group of individuals with whom I side with, claim there are more reasons to this matter. This essay is a disscusion between both points of view. To begin with, it should be considered that some people might find it difficult to start learning a new language or the fact that they are never going to use it keeps them from doing so. In detail, they prefer to spend that time on another desiered skill. Yet some others including myself are eager to start knowing new languages and count it as a valuable skill even though they might never move to a different country. In contrast, the second group see this as a tool to improve communication and intake knowledge. Moreover, by being able to understand more than one language individuals not only can expand their cultural understandings, but they can also go on vocations to the destination countries and enhance their cognitive skills by being in touch with people from that culture. Building personal relationships, finding greater opportunities in life or a job are also some of the many other benefits of this subject. As an example, I would not be able to get access to any of these educational facilities if I did not know English. In conclusion, while some people might prefer to perform other tasks rather than learn a new way of communication, it could not mean that the only purpose of doing it is meant for immigration or trips, as there are a bunch of other reasons that justify it, which I mentioned above.