In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cell phone) app is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

The usage of technology has significantly increased over a decade.It is irrefutable to deny that people are dependent on mobile phones for doing routine transactions in several countries. I believe that this trend has more merits than demerits and will discuss the reasons in the following paragraphs. Technology is interwoven with human life. There are various reasons behind the incremental usage of mobile gadgets for payments in several sections of the world. To begin with, people are living a fast-paced life and doing online payments will help them to save time and energy. There are applications for everything on mobile phones such as food delivery, apparel, banking, medicines, groceries, entertainment and many more. On the top of it, a majority of people are living in nuclear families and are occupied with their professional commitments, hence they could not visit supermarkets and shopping malls as per their requirements. So we can say that the dependability on digital platforms has increased due to hectic lifestyles which saves their precious time. Furthermore, digital payments boost the national economy. For example, In India, the government encourages the citizens to pay by UPI or using mobile or internet banking so that they can monitor the transactions which helps the government demolish the flow of black currency from the economy. Moreover, local manufacturers can sell their products on digital platforms such as Instagram, Facebook and Whatsapp, these applications cater to massive audiences and with the help of digital payment options companies can earn money at the early stage of business. On the other hand, downloading these apps from cell phones will ask for several approvals from the user, for instance, his photos, locations, preferred payment options, card details, address and mobile phone, for providing better services. These are the private information of the customers so, a breach of privacy could occurs as the developer of the app is aware of user's private information. Hence, customers should be cautious while doing payments online as the number of frauds have been increased and doubled in the last five years. Overall, I strongly believe that usage of mobile phones for payments is an efficient and time saver for people. However, users have to be more proactive while using the apps and if government strengthen the laws of cybercrime can reduce fraud.