Some people think secondary school students and high school students should be allowed to choose academic courses leading to university or practical Courses leading to careers such as carpenters. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The current education system in most countries is based on the belief that high school students are often encouraged to focus on practical courses such as carpentry or auto repair, while students interested in academic pursuits are funnelled into "college prep" programs. I agree that secondary school students can make their own choices within certain constraints. Allowing children to make their own choices will have many benefits for their future development. Students who are good at math or science may find themselves drawn towards a career in engineering or medicine because of these academic courses and be given the opportunity to pursue further study at university. Those who are not academically inclined will also be able to acquire a vocational skill through a practical course that will enable them to work and earn an income after graduation. And in terms of learning outcomes, by allowing students to choose the areas in which they excel, they are willing to put more effort into their studies, which also helps them to achieve better results. However, this approach has a number of drawbacks. Due to their young age and lack of experience, secondary school students are not mentally mature, leading to a lack of consideration in their decisions. We also neglect the fact that By encouraging students to focus on practical courses that lead to careers, we fail to prepare them for other kinds of employment later in life. Therefore, parents and teachers need to be more involved in the selection process. They can help students make more appropriate curriculum choices based on their rich experience and understanding of children. In conclusion, the point of secondary and high school is to prepare students for the future. There is no reason why they should not be able to choose the courses that best prepare them for their future, whether that is a practical or an academic course.