In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, it is often said that everything will be replaced by robots in the next decade. Moreover, the automation of vehicles is also expected in the near future and the drivers will be replaced by machines. This innovation has both its own pros and cons, however, I believe that the positive aspects are more than the negative ones. On the one hand, there are numerous advantages of a driverless vehicle. Firstly, road accidents will be reduced to a great extent. In most countries, the humans who ride the truck are sometimes drunk or fall asleep due to long hours of drive causing major road accidents. For instance, it is a known fact that 94% of subway accidents are caused due to human error. If the vehicles are driven, then as a consequence, human errors would be eradicated. Secondly, people with disabilities can easily drive without the need of anyone. For example, if someone has a broken leg but he needs to be somewhere urgently, then having a driverless vehicle is the best case instead of asking someone to take them. On the other hand, there are certain disadvantages that cannot be ignored. Since the bus would not have any individual who would be driving it, it will totally rely on GPS. There are times when GPS does not work accurately. To illustrate, if there is a wrong turn taken due to GPS, a person would reach somewhere else rather than his desired destination. Additionally, the cost of these cars would increase dramatically due to the hardware and programming. As a result, people might not buy it. To put it in a nutshell, it is an undeniable fact that we will be able to see automated vehicles in our surroundings soon. It has both merits like reduction in route mishaps and enabling disabled people to drive as well as shortcomings such as immense cost and inaccurate routes. In my opinion, all the disadvantages can be worked on leading to more flexible travelling options.