Some people think that younger people are not suitable for important positions in government. Others think that it will be a good idea for younger people to take on these positions. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Government officials with less work experience are considered by some to be inappropriate for executive positions, yet others believe firmly that younger talents also deserve managerial roles. Considering the fact that young people are typically innovative with problem-solving and have a deeper understanding of modern technologies, which could be a big help to enhance the productivity of government, I believe that all candidates for leadership roles should be reviewed based on a specific, job-related list of credentials, such as educational background, personality and relevant experience. Age is not necessarily the determining factor to influence the final hiring decision. Admittedly, people with long work histories tend to have deeper insights when it comes to decision-making, because they have encountered similar problems in the past and are more likely to lead a governmental organization with a practical approach. It takes time to gain industry-specific knowledge and develop soft skills required for leaders, such as conflict management, public speaking, and motivating employees. It would be almost impossible to require a junior officer to obtain all these credentials with little experience. Furthermore, a great proportion of governmental organisations follow the unwritten rules of traditional seniority, which promotes employees according to seniority. Selecting young leaders will violate this norm, affecting the office dynamics detrimentally. On the other hand, innovative young talents may be able to manage an organization more efficiently and creatively with the help of modern technology and tools. In fact, a vast majority of CEOs managing Internet giants joined the board of executives when they were below thirty-five. They took advantage of modern office tools, such as Slack and Google Drive, to facilitate communication and provide employees with clear instructions and incentives. If young people can be successful leaders in the business world, there is no doubt that they can also handle executive roles in government well, provided that they meet other job-related credentials, such as educational background, familiarity with the industry, and personal interests. In conclusion, while older people are traditionally considered to be successful leaders in government, I think younger talent also deserve a chance to demonstrate their leadership ability. Not only will they provide governmental organizations with more innovative, unconventional ideas, but they will also enhance the use of modern technology to lead an efficient and effective team.