Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar which cause many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to enourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Sugar-packed goods should be turned more costly to persuade societies to ingest less sugar as numerous produced eatables and beverages consist of increased quantities of this which affects health adversely. This essay agrees with the notion, and will first discuss the rise in obese youngsters, second promote healthier choices, followed by a conclusion. Since the processed form of sugarcane-based products are light on the pocket, especially drinks, many individuals are in the habit of consuming them instead of water and are normally found stocked up in every household fridge. And, this overconsumption of sweetened commodities is promoting obesity. If the government implements taxes on imports, the manufacturing companies will be forced to reduce the number of sweetness they use to flavour their products which will eventually make customers lose their interest thus improving bodies. For example, in 2021 an experiment conducted by the Nutrition Association of England in Purley showed that by adding a 20 per cent levy on raw materials for energy cans, it was seen that 60 per cent of the producers were using less content of refined sugar and pressuring the community to change their habit of over ingesting this beverage due to difference in taste. In addition, making high-sugar products increase in price will divert minds towards healthier choices. This is because if the prices have touched a point where they cannot be afforded, men and women will automatically be forced to purchase organic forms of food and drinks, therefore, promoting overall human well-being. Organics also contain sugars, however, they are digested and broken down as per body requirements during minimal activity if so during the day. For example, in 2020 Pricing Control Authority of Pakistan boosted the cost of Sting a strawberry-based liquid, three times its original rate. This helped in persuading 55 per cent of families to buy strawberries instead and improving them as a whole. In conclusion, it is agreed that increased sugary items negatively affect the human-beings and therefore a hike in cost will discourage the masses to devour them.