The most important function of music is that it helps people reduce stress. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Music plays an important role in our daily lives. Some people claim that the most significant function of music to people is that it makes people less stressed. As I’m concerned, although it can help people by reducing stress, music has a more important function, conveying emotions. First, it’s undeniable that music can help people by reducing their stress. To be exact, when people are really nervous about upcoming events, some prefer to play some relaxing music, like popular songs or peaceful piano music, to help them keep calm and deal with the events rationally. However, music is certainly not their unique choice. Some other people prefer to adopt other relaxing methods, like deep breathing or clearing their minds, which I believe is also useful to reduce stress. In conclusion, it’s unreasonable to regard reducing stress as the most important function of music because other methods can achieve similar effects and music is substitutable to do it. Second, provided by music, the most important function which is unsubstitutable is conveying emotions through people ’s hearing. More precisely, music is created because people have emotions to convey. As is known to us, music can convey a variety of emotions, like sadness, happiness, and worry. While listening to music, listeners can be affected and feel all these emotions easily. This function is so essential that it has been applied everywhere in our daily lives. When stores want to advertise specific products, they select happy melodies as background music to bind positive feelings about the products to potential consumers. When film directors want to horrify a particular scene, they adopt horrible music as the background music. Unlike reducing stress, this function can’t be substituted by other things. To summarize, conveying emotions rather than reducing stress is the most important function of music.