In many countries, plastic shopping bags are the main source of rubbish, causing pollution on land and in the water, so people think they should be ban. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, shopping bags made from plastic have caused controversy in society. Some people believe plastic bags should be banned because they harm the environment such as water and soil. I strongly agree with that opinion and I believe that society should start considering replacing plastic bags with other environmentally friendly bags in order to lessen the negative impact made by plastic bags. On the one hand, much research has shown that plastic bags have a lot of disadvantages for the environment. A recent case found by researchers is there are a lot of plastic bags floating in the sea and getting stuck in turtle fins. That could bother the turtle activities. Moreover, researchers obtained that there are several cases of plastic bags eaten by turtles because they are misrecognized as jellyfish. This would seriously harm the turtle's life and could make the turtle become an extinct animal. On the other hand, a lot of people have started a movement of change in order to shift the use of plastic bags. For example, in Indonesia, a well-known mini market named Alfamart has banned plastic bags in order to support this movement. Customers are required to bring their own bags to the shop, even if they forget to bring them, Alfamart will not give the plastic bags to them so they have to bring their groceries by hand. Although it is done only in Alfamart, there are big chance that this movement could be done by bigger organizations and become globally adopted by people. In conclusion, I would say that banning plastic bags nationally is a good idea and I strongly agree with that, but this must be supported by organizations and the government so people are doing it because of the rules.