In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the times ahead the sole individuals commuting in automobiles will be commuters as entire light and heavy travel vehicles will be self-driving. This essay agrees that the negative side has more significance to it rather than the positive side of it and will first discuss unemployment, second organisational savings, followed by a conclusion. One of the many downsides of autonomous cars will be job losses. Nowadays, in many countries, a great number of families rely on the income they earn from driving by being truckers, bus drivers or courier deliverers and for some, this is the only source of earning. The introduction of the new technology will completely replace their requirement and result in uncountable numbers of employment being lost thus pushing many households into the vicious circle of poverty. This will not only affect the world as a whole but also create a humanitarian crisis. For example, in 2022 research conducted by the Sociology department of Stanford University, the recently self-driving car launched by Tesla if successful will cause 60 per cent of the human race to be jobless. On the most argued positive side, the logistic and cab hale business will reduce most of the operational costs which they disburse in the form of salaries and commissions resulting in savings. This is because they would not need to hire new resources to keep their fleet running, let alone retain the current employees. These robotic cars will not only affect the previously mentioned businesses but will also be of use to other types of organisations that offer pick-and-drop services. However, this introduction will be beneficial to the companies at the expense of damaging societies. Also, the expenses will be the same as highly qualified engineers will be needed who will demand huge sums of salaries and with that investment, expenditure will also add up making the saving back to where it was. For example, in 2020 a company based in Kenya named Cloud9 tried to replace lorries with heavy-duty drones for their deliveries in order to achieve operational efficiencies and failed at this innovation as they had to bear a fixed cost of paying a tech giant for monitoring and flying their drones. In conclusion, as amazing as it sounds automotives that drive themselves might benefit organisations but will have a larger impact on human beings by snatching their livelihood.