The world today is a safer place and governments should stop spending large amounts of money on their armed forces. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

National security is one of the important aspects for any nation to secure its borders from terror organizations and illegal immigration. Today most people believe that the world is now a secure place and there is harmony between various bordering as well as non-bordering countries, so there is no need to reinforce the military forces. In this essay, I am going to discuss why I do not totally agree with this idea and why there is a need for armed personnel. In the present world, due to advanced,, globalization it appears that we humans are now compatible with various cultures and ethnicities so there is no need for border forces. Despite this, I will say that every nation should have the necessary armed personnel and weapons so that they are in a good position to defend themselves from incursions. As it becomes very easy for people to move from one continent to another via various means of transportation there is still a risk of illegal terror incursions into the country's borders that may lead to fatal live taking attacks. For instance, 9/11, 26/11, and various other attacks result in the loss of human lives. Other than that, there may be bordering conflicts between neighbouring states, to tackle such situations it is obligatory for any government to spend money for the reinforcement of the security forces. The recent example of the Russia and Ukraine war tells us why there is need is such a need to strengthen national security. On the other hand, if we look from the perspective of the ones who believe that military expense should be ceased or minimized, I think this is due to the fact that nowadays most countries possess nuclear weapons that are a big threat to humankind and may lead to mass destruction. To conclude, I want to say that careful budgets need to be drafted for the military, so that peace can be maintained within the country, furthermore, there is also a need to find ways to settle disputes on political levels so that there is no need to wage a war.