Some believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today’s world, some jobs require advanced and long-lasting training. It is believed/considered that people in those jobs ought to stay in their country, where they obtained their qualifications, while others think that it would depend on the individual’s own choice. This essay will discuss these controversial opinions and explain why it might be better to let these people decide about their own careers. According to some, people doing professional jobs should not be able to leave their country in order to work somewhere else. One reason for this might be the amount of investment by the government to train those individuals. Also, these jobs provide the essential public services necessary for society and communities to function. For instance, India has a problem of overpopulation, and when a doctor or engineer leaves this country, other people tend to have problems accessing health services and housing options. On the other hand, one may think that it is wrong to make people stay because of their jobs. Firstly, freedom of choice is a basic human right. Secondly, doing so would limit one in choosing the lifestyle one wants. For example, doctors are miserably unhappy in Turkey because of their low income and harsh working environment. Policymakers are forcing these health experts to stay in their country, which often results in strikes/industrial action. Also, Turkish doctors are aware that there is a better life waiting for them abroad, so restrictions generate more resentment. In conclusion, there seem to be two different ideas about whether to let experts move abroad. It is true that if a trained person leaves their country, it may be a waste of the taxpayers’ money invested into training, which might have a long-lasting negative impact on the country ’s future. Nevertheless, in my opinion, it should be possible for such professionals to choose freely to follow their dreams and live the life they want.