Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, against the backdrop of globalization, there has been a growing trend that many people choose to study abroad. While some argue that living in a host country where people speak a different language may cause a lot of problems, others don't think so. In this essay, I am going to review both views to draw a conclusion. Living abroad can be problematic. To begin with, most newcomers are faced with practical issues such as language barriers. In other words, without proper knowledge of what others mean, one may feel frustrated in every aspect of his life. Take me as an example. During my stay in Paris, I even had trouble ordering food at restaurants, not to mention making friends, because of my poor French. In addition, it is common for individuals to suffer from some kind of culture shock in another country as their homesickness and frustration grow. Since you have little idea about the culture, you may feel confused or even isolated about things that local residents take for granted. On the other hand, however, living overseas can be very productive and beneficial. For example, as you move to a new country, it actually provides you with an environment more conducive to your language learning. Furthermore, thanks to your homesickness you are forced to make friends and establish rapport with diversified people, hence developing a deeper understanding towards cultural differences. To conclude, there is no denying that Living abroad may cause practical and social issues such as homesickness and language frustration. But they can be solved with determined and patient efforts. In my view, I agree with such views, but there is no need to panic and there are more benefits coming along.