Some people believe that watching big events like sports and the Olympics on TV encourage adults to exercise regularly. While others disagree that there are other effective ways of getting them to exercise. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some believe that global events such as Olympics or Worldcups are one of the greatest methods to persuade people to exercise constantly. I completely agree with this statement, since the best way to get citizens involved in sports is to let them enjoy sports together. During a Worldcup season, all the people's interest will focus on the event. As a result, the more games are shown on TV, the more people including those who are not as interested in football as others will also watch it along with their friends or family members. This is actually an efficient way, since they are likely to try to learn the way games go and who are famous players in order to participate in conversations. For example, never before 2002 when a Korea-Japan Worldcup was held, had people been so interested in soccer as to root for the national team together. Therefore, the number of people playing football regularly got inflated by the Worldcup. Not only do popular sports like soccer take an advantage of the phenomenon, but also those that are not so common to the public like speed skating or figure skating can arise. What this means is that the public could have more choices when they choose which sports to try out. Yuna Kim, for instance, who is revered as a national hero for obtaining several medals at Olympics, has taught so many Koreans to know the existence of figure skating, which had barely been known. This led a number of people to start taking in skating. Considering the fact that starting out is thought to be the hardest part of exercising, the Olympics seem to play a significant role. To sum up, even though there might be better and more direct ways, I believe that global sports events to which people pay attention together have a powerful influence over the public.