Some countries have legal ages at which people can drink. Others believe not have strict law is a better policy. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

The drinking legal age varies according to the country, while in some places people have the right to it at 18, other countries's laws dictate that one should be older than that. It is often argued that the government should not impose severe punishment on the drinking age. Nevertheless, in this essay, I will elaborate on both standpoints and give my personal opinion on the matter. On one hand, these types of policies are legislated as a countermeasure to wrongdoings among the youth, as the recreational use of alcohol is linked to car accidents, brawls, and other illegal activities. It is worth mentioning that even though a person of any age could be capable of committing the same misdemeanour, not a few people claim that the prevalence of crime is higher in younger generations when alcohol is involved, hence, it is a clear indicative that such a drug should be more regulated given that it is proportionately correlated to misdeeds. The United States is a perfect illustration of a society that reinforces these prejudices and takes active measures against them. On the other hand, nations such as Germany, have a different approach when it comes to their youth, the latter permits the recreational use of the aforementioned substance. This proves to be rooted in the culture of the population in turn, and as it might be unadvertised for Americans, the crime rate is not influenced by the drinking age. The approach of a society like this is drastically different and serves as an example of how laws are not the only way to combat misdeeds. My opinion on this topic is clear, laws should not be imposed upon the general population to try to reduce wrongdoings, illicit crimes are more often determined by several other factors like education, religion, and background, rather than the age solely. As I had stated in the previous paragraphs, it could be said that modern societies seem to be concerned about the correct approach to the legal drinking age. It is my understanding that the currency of illegal activities tends to be linked to several other things than just age.