In education and employment, some people work harder than others. What makes them work harder? Is it a good thing or a bad thing? Give reasons and examples from your personal experiences.

Today’s fast-changing world has imposed great pressure on the whole society, requiring a comprehensive skill set totally from the workforce. Confronted with these requests, it’s plausible for senses of vocation and competition to be summoned up. Necessary as this may seem, there are still chances that dynamism of such kind could still be counterproductive. Among various reasons urging diligence, perhaps the desire for better lives is the commonest. People study or work hard to fulfil their family commitments, trying to give all the best to their beloved ones. Competition is another reason pushing people to endeavour. For example, those newly employed work extra shifts to prove their competence while those who are experienced strive for fear of being replaced by either these newcomers or automation. In addition, there are also innately industrious people for whom performance at work is more of self-fulfilment than merely proof of their capability. However, hardworking doesn’t always generate good results. For instance, excessive responsibilities could bring physical or mental fatigue, jeopardizing people ’s health and decreasing employees’ long-term strength and performance. Secondly, the long-lasting imbalance between work and life may incur or intensify tensions between family members, because rather than material possessions, what people want is usually being accompanied by their close relatives. Lastly, the habit of hardworking could also reinforce the illusion that diligence is destined to be rewarded, and this mindset could bring enormous depression once anything unexpected happens, destroying people ’s hope and motivation thoroughly. In conclusion, some people work harder than others in the pursuit of self-fulfilment or better lives, while others have no alternative but to compete with others. Nevertheless, it is generally not a good thing because of the potential harm.