Some people say education is the only critical factor to the development of a country. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the contemporary world, the importance of education is deeply emphasised, so much so, that it is considered to be one of the most critical factors in the development of a country. Moreover, an educated workforce is required for a country to excel in industrial, financial and commercial sectors. In this essay, I will be describing the extent to which this is true before my conclusion is reached. In my opinion, the importance of literacy is the most pressing in developing countries, which tend to have a larger size of the population. Additionally, this greater headcount demands a larger educated workforce, such as doctors, engineers, teachers, and government officials to take part in the growth of the country and meet the necessities of the masses. Moreover, education also plays a paramount role in research and development sectors to put a developing country on track for progress. For instance, Bangladesh is a brilliant example of this phenomenon, whereby, education has brought about a revolution in the country's economy. On the contrary, in developed countries, facilities such as factories, power plants and other production houses tend to have greater years of experience under their belts and end up streamlining their processes. Hospitals have a consistent supply of doctors, industries of engineers, schools of teachers, the government of employees and so on. Furthermore, more and more educated workers opt to move to developed countries due to better living conditions, and the deciding factor for progress doesn't remain to be the lack of educated officials, but an absence of skilled labour. Thus, rendering education to be a less critical factor in the progress of the country. A prime example of this can of course is taken from the Middle East. In conclusion, I believe that a perfect balance of educated, as well as skilled labour, is required for the progress of a country, and the timing of each is relative but the skill is to figure out which is required and when.