Both men and women these days work full-time, so it is logical for them to share household chores equally. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

It is true that, throughout the world, the number of dual-income families is increasing. When there are two wages which contribute to the family budget, I firmly believe that both males and females should have equal responsibility for doing the housework. Firstly, old patterns of behaviour are no longer appropriate or logical in the modern family, in which both men and women work full-time. Working mothers cannot be expected to do all the jobs around the house if, along with men, they have also to be breadwinners. Traditionally, the woman might expect help with applying household tasks from the extended family. Some of these family members might live in the home, and cook, clean and do shopping. However, in the modern nuclear family, the working man and woman must adopt new roles and responsibilities. Secondly, although both males and females often have a heavy workload, at their house there are many labour-saving appliances to make housework easier to share. The sexes arrive home worn out either physically or mentally after a hard day at the office, shop or factory. Therefore, it is only fair to shoulder the burden of chores equally. Fortunately, with two salaries, it is possible to afford to save work at home. Washing machines, dishwashers, microwaves, ovens, vacuum cleaners and other aids for housework can be operated by anyone, regardless of gender. In the USA, for example, most families often consume ready meals or takeaways, instead of preparing homemade food. Therefore, sharing the chores becomes easier after enduring the pressures of the workplace. In conclusion, I totally agree that when men and women are in full-time jobs, they should share the household tasks, especially since these chores are made so much lighter these days.