Nowadays foreign visitors show more interest in the museums of a country than its local residents do. Why is this happening? What can be done to attract more local residents to the museums of their country?

This is a common opinion that the majority of visitors to historical sites are tourists rather than local citizens. However, in contrast, the number of residents visiting these same sites has dropped. The main reason for this issue as well as some solutions will be discussed in this essay. First of all, to open the deliberation, local people are already familiar with the history of the place they live, some of them may have even been born there and there is not something new for them in historic sites. In contrast, everything is new to the travellers. The sense of curiosity about foreign cultures and histories motivates sightseers to check out history-related places. On the other hand, the high entrance cost of museums discourages the local community or native people to go there. They do not value historical sites enough to pay for them. Whereas well-produced advertising by airline and tour companies convinces travellers to appreciate heritage sites. There are a number of steps that can be taken to increase the number of natives who are eager for visiting famous places in their own country. First of all, people should be fully aware of the importance of their historical elements and their ancient cultures. On the other hand, safe prices, whether for transport or entrance to some special places, should be available to all no matter their income. In summary, global travel is one of the major leisure activities. Ensuring that local people also appreciate their own country and its heritage places needs a few simple measures to be taken.