It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sports or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that child could be taught to be a good sports person or musician. Discuss both this views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answers and give relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is a popular knowledge that some people are born with talents in sport or music, but sometimes it can be taught. In my opinion, I believe talents can develop at different age with the right attitude or passion and guidance. On one hand, gifts can be innate. In this case they are either inherited from parents or passed from older generation. Some people are lucky to realise this talent early in life and make better use of it to become successful. Having a certain knack to progress in life depends on the individual ability to be creative, work as a team with others, and confidence. In football, a player by name Messi is known globally based on certain skills he displays on the pitch. Furthermore, this kind of flair is also hinged on being a good team leader to bring out the best from each member of the team. On the other hand, skills can be taught by the right person. As children develop with age they acquire basic skills such as walking, talking, mannerism. These are built up from what they see and hear from their parents or environment. The same goes with learning to sing or play musical instrument. If these kids are coached early, they become excellent. In addition, while I was young, I had a neighbour who plays drum in church and social events. He goes to these places with his 3 years old daughter, as she grew older she developed a flair for singing and playing different kinds of drum. She was taught to be discipline and work hard every day. She was also enrolled into a musical class in school and had a private tutor every weekday. Finally, even though majority believe that people are with talents, others are also right to think that it can be taught. In my opinion, talents are innate and can also be built through hard work, discipline and the right coach.