Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? Do advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

In this contemporary epoch, some parents consider delaying childbirth whose reasons will be discussed in this essay. Both the advantage and disadvantage will also be put under scrutiny although I lean towards the former statement. There are several justifications that could explain why some people would prefer to have children later in life. First and foremost, for some parents, giving birth in young adulthood puts a strain on their financial and career plans. Nurturing a child requires myriads of expenses for nutrition, health care, and education which will exert financial issues on the young parents, hence hindering the living standard of the family. Another possible reason is that young couples are not psychologically ready to raise a child. They are not mentally aware of how tremendous the responsibility and magnitude of parental skills really are. Therefore, bringing up a child would genuinely discourage them and negatively affect their work-life balance. This phenomenon indicates quite a serious drawback, in which the benefit it brings appears to be less significant. Young parents who have been financially and mentally stable have a tendency to nurture a child more fulfilling. Their offspring is more likely to be exposed to better education, and manner and become more well-rounded later in life. Having said that, delaying childbirth involves high risks of health-related issues for the mother and the baby. The child could suffer from a physical or mental disability due to the poor pregnancy process of middle-aged mothers. In a more severe scenario, the birth-giving process could be fatal and result in the death of either family member. In conclusion, the two primary reasons why young people decide to postpone childbirth are the lack of resources and mental awareness to raise a child. Despite the cited benefit, this trend is still more of a drawback.