Grades encourage students to work harder at school. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

In the contemporary era, opinions are split when it comes down to debating both benefits and demerits of grades. Many insist that students given the grades from school could be highly motivated, possibly leading to hard studying. In my point of view, I strongly agree with this statement. To commence with, test results can be an exact indicator, which enables students to orient their current level compared to the others. Therefore, pupils who are included in a certain level of lessons are provided conducive learning atmosphere to enhance their academic prowess. For instance, one observational survey in China demonstrates that students who were allocated to basic classes following grades are likely to extend an individual's knowledge and become enthusiastic about learning. Accordingly, in the long term, giving grades to students is an efficient method to make them aware of their competence and absorbed in studying. On top of that, grades are generally an objective standard for many universities and colleges to evaluate applicants' academic abilities. Being qualified for entering the desired university is the ultimate goal of pupils. For example, a majority of students in Korea endeavour for more than three years to get the desired scores at the CSAT, which is a sort of entrance examination and also manifests their relative scores of the country. That is to say, to achieve their aspirations, they have no choice but to study harder than other competitors. In conclusion, grades can play a significant role in both assisting students to realize their current level and motivating pupils to work harder so as to reach their goals.