What is your opinion about the advantages of smoking cigarettes?

Despite the fact that smoking severely harms our health as many lung diseases are caused by the habit, it is still believed that smoking does have certain advantages such as relaxing nerves and helping us lose body weight. However, these opinions suffer from logical and factual issues, and I hardly agree with them. To begin with, smoking is not the only way that helps calm down. It is non-arguable that having a cigarette indeed helps ease nerves and pressure, which has been illustrated by extensive studies in the literature. Nevertheless, whether or not this is the best way to relax and keep calm is still questionable. There are in fact many other much better and healthier alternatives, like chewing gum, drinking coffee or tea, and so on. Thus, the claim proposed is not evident enough. Next, the connections between smoking and body weight control have not been clearly proven. On contrary, there is evidence to show the exact flipping opposite. For instance, several studies have shown that nicotine is a source that boosts appetite, which actually makes people eat more and has a negative impact on losing weight. Hence, we see that the exact opposite of the claim is more convincing. In conclusion, the merits of having cigarettes have been proposed and supported by many people out there. However, the evidence to disprove these statements are more than overwhelming. Therefore, I do believe that the advantages of smoking cannot outweigh its disadvantages.