The percentage of overweight children in the western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years.Discuss the causes and effect of this disturbing trend.

It goes without saying that in the last decade percentage of childhood obesity has increased by almost 20% in western society. The following paragraphs will elaborate on some of the causes and effects of this worrying trend. The main cause of this problem is poor diet. It is a known fact that the human body requires a balanced diet to maintain the systemic growth of each individual. But, over the last decade there has been a prolific increase in fast food restaurants. For instance, on nearly every corner street you will McDonald's, Pizza Hut, Domino, and Burger King just to name a few. The foods in these restaurants have been proven to be very unhealthy and many of the advertisements are designed to keep children in focus. However, it is not only about eating out in these restaurants, but also about the type of diet children eat at home. A lot of food consumed at home is processed food, especially frozen foods which are ready-made meals and are quick to cook. These types of food are easy options for working parents. The effect of this has been and will continue to be very serious. Firstly, there has been a large increase in health-related diseases among children, especially obesity. It has been noticed that overweight children are becoming the victims of bullying from other children, which may affect their mental health. Diabetes is also another disease that is becoming very common in children. This illness means that they have to be injected with insulin for the rest of their life. To conclude, it is evident that there are several reasons causing obesity,especially among children, and along with these causes it brings negative effects on health. So, we all should make an effort to educate our children about the causes and effects this unhealthy food brings with them. Also, we should make them eat more healthy homemade food from natural resources.