some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign kanguage at primary school rather than secondary school. do th advantages of this outwigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that it would be beneficial for children to learn a foreign language as early as possible. But it has certain drawbacks too. This essay will examine the advantages and the disadvantages of early introduction of a different language to children and provide a logical conclusion. The two main advantages of early introduction of a foreign language to children includes early retention of the language and provision of more time of practice. Firstly, early introduction of a foreign language to children would facilitate their memory of the different terms and its meaning. Since children's mind is like a taboo, we can easily instill new thoughts and ideas to them. And their curiosity would make everything smooth. Secondly, early exposure to a new language would give them more time to inculcate it in their everyday lives. The more they practice a certain skill or ability, the more chances they will be accustomed to it. And they will need plenty of time to learn a new language so it is practical to start having it in primary school. However, premature introduction to a foreign language has two disadvantages like poor retention and confusion. Children in their early age are prone to distractions thus limits their focus. This means that they will find it difficult to retain what has been taught to them and that they would choose to play instead. What's more is, if children will be exposed to a new language, there is a huge possibility that they will be confused as to what their native is. As a matter of fact, children taught with a different language in their early age often forgot how to use their native language. However, focused guidance of teachers and parents would prevent those conflicts from happening, thus eliminates the said disadvantages. In conclusion, although children ’s early introduction to a new language will lead to ineffective retention and confusion, it will definitely give them unlimited time to get acquainted with the language and that they would get used to it as time goes by if with proper guidance. I believe that these benefits outweigh its drawbacks.