Some people believe that developments in the field of artificial intelligence will have a positive impact on our lives in the near future. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the past decade, the field of computer science experienced an evolution faster than anyone could ever imagine. Brand new technology and creative innovations were developed and deployed, and still continue to advance every day. One of the most revolutionary examples of this is artificial intelligence, which I believe will change our lives for the better by reducing human error and even prevent accidents. Firstly, artificial intelligence can take over our menial, recurring tasks and eliminate mistakes in the workplace. For example, an artificial intelligence algorithm can send us notification alerts to buy groceries at regular intervals or even automatically order them online a few weeks after our previous purchase. Additionally, in the workplace, artificial intelligence can comb through large spreadsheets of information, check for inconsistencies, and rectify incorrectly inputted values. Artificial intelligence can also aid in disaster prevention. Fundamentally, artificial intelligence gains its abilities by processing large volumes of numerical data. In the case of weather, an artificial intelligence algorithm can monitor factors such as cloud cover percentage, humidity, and water levels of rivers to estimate and alert citizens to evacuate prior to a potential flash flood or a typhoon; this has the potential to reduce property damage and even prevent casualties. Furthermore, by monitoring stock prices and trends, the artificial intelligence program can predict future rises and recessions, consequently averting economic crises and stock market crashes. In conclusion, as artificial intelligence continues to expand its capabilities, the benefits we humans reap from it grow exponentially. From error correction to disaster evasion, artificial intelligence will prove immensely helpful to our modern lifestyles. Ultimately, I agree that artificial intelligence will have a positive impact on our lives in the near future.