Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

It is irrefutable that plethora of perishable goods are transported from far-off regions. While many believe that it is not good for environment and economy, I beg to differ. There are many advantages of importing fruits and vegetables, I will provide some examples and research done at the university to provide depth to my stand. To begin with, a country is only able to export if it has a produce in excess, otherwise they will use that to feed the local population. To exemplify, the amount of wheat grown in Ukraine is 3 times more than what they need locally, hence, exporting the extra wheat is beneficial for ukraine as well as countries like Canada, Norway, etc. as they are not able to produce the crop on their land. Moreover, Canada imports the food from many different countries, but are still able to maintain its economy without taking any drastic steps. On the other hand, the use of transportation burns fossil fuels and increases the cost of the product, which impacts the world economically as well as environmentally. To illustrate, the research conducted at the L.B. Farming School in UofT on the cost of growing 500 ton corn in canada with 500 ton of the same from Mexico, it was found out that Mexico would be the same value per ton and emissions for transportantion would be only 0.5 Kg if transported via ship. Furthermore, its a win-win situation as the food is being consumed rather than being dumped, but at a cost of impacting the nature. In a nutshell, sharing of resources is the best way to protect the nature and maintain the balance globally. To conclude, many believe that local food is good for their economy, the advantages on a world level is much more important to be looked at from a nature and cash flow perspective.