Today, fashion is becoming more and more important in choosing clothes. What are the reasons? Do you think the trend is positive or negative?

Nowadays, with the influence of social media and commercials on the internet, fashion has become more and more critical for people to purchase apparel. From my perspective, this phenomenon is leading to a large number of wasted materials and causing group pressure. In this essay, I am going to explain my reasons why it negatively affects modern society. To begin with, the popularity of social media is the major reason why people care about fashion. The commercials on TV make the public pursue products from well-known brands. Moreover, the influencers always show off their garmet on the internet platforms like Instagram and Facebook which not only contributes individuals to imitating them but also causes group pressure. For example, in Korea, most young people desire to wear the same model of shoes and clothing as idols. On the other hand, the effects of this trend include peer bullying and the waste of resources. The fashion industry is ranked at the top of the resources-wasting industries. For example, Nike, the most famous brand of sneakers around the world, launches new products every season. With the promotion on the Internet, many youths jostle to purchase the latest product even if they have had many sneakers already. For instance, a lot of juveniles purchase hundreds of pairs of shoes and even only wear them once before throwing them up. In conclusion, social media and celebrities are the main reasons why the majority of individuals tend to follow fashion. However, only caring about wearing the newest style of clothing or insisting on following the fashion can contribute to campus bullying and contaminate the environment.